Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Recession stories
So believe it or not I was only 14-15 years old when the recession hit! (Crazy right) so don't remember much other than the tightening of the household budget.

I want to get some stories and perspective about how you all reacted.
Did you go on a buying spree, panic sell get shocked by LehamnBrothers collapse?

Thanks
Lewys Smile
I started off with investing via mutual funds before the recession...and my first stock purchases came right around the time of collapse of some of the banks...and guess what I was buying? The sinking banks! Learned a valuable lesson - and thankfully only lost about $1,000.

I wrote a detailed post about it on my blog.
I was a broke college student learning wonderful and useful stuff like Beta, CAPM, ETF portfolio management, etc. Anyway, just a couple of years earlier, I read The Intelligent Investor so I was a value investor at heart.As part of the curriculum, we ran a virtual portfolio in which we talked about our strategy, holdings, and performance at the end of the semester.

I remember I decided to go with a concentrated portfolio of 5 stocks. If I remember correctly, it was WFC, USB, eBay, and two others. These purchases were made almost at the absolute bottom of the crash. Because my portfolio had 2 financials, my results were mixed but anyway, I remember getting dinged for not diversifying and having too much beta when other students over diversified and/or day traded.

Boy would I love to see my portfolio performance now. I mean, WFC was in the low 20's, and eBay around $10.
(10-29-2014, 09:29 AM)alexg Wrote: ... As part of the curriculum, we ran a virtual portfolio in which we talked about our strategy, holdings, and performance at the end of the semester.