Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Options Strategy - Puts & Calls - Sound Logic?
As I was working on re-balancing my portfolio recently (see the portfolio thread), I decided to use some options to juice my yields.

I've had good results selling cash-secured puts over the last few years either collecting some relatively huge premiums when volatility was high or getting better prices on assigned stocks than buying them outright. Typically it's been close or below the market low price in the purchase time frame.

However, the only covered call I sold, EMR, was called away during a big market move even though I thought the stock was at the high end of its valuation at the time. Because of this, I've been leery of selling covered calls for fear I'd miss out on a big run up when they were called away.

I'm not an options expert and most of the terms options traders use to discuss evaluating options are foreign to me. For me, it's always been about getting some free money on a wishful bet or into a position I wanted with a slightly lower cost basis.

I usually don't go much past a 60 day strike date since, for cash-secured puts, I don't like my money tied up for much longer. You never know when a bargain someplace else appears. Likewise, if a stock with a covered call starts a steady climb upward, I don't want it called away prematurely.

That being said, these are the trades I made and my reasoning. Wondering what others think. Is my strategy sound?