Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Account Activity
I can't say that I am a great trader, but I do enjoy it. I have become more risk averse through the years. I really try to never trade a stock I'm not very OK with just owning long-term if things go wrong, because someday it will. My trading would be more accurately described as attempts to add on significant dips and trim if he runs a little too fast, around a core position normally. Not forcing trades is easier said than done, but it keeps me out of serious trouble. Impulsiveness got me in trouble long ago. If I break my rules, the bet is usually small because I know the day will come when I miscalculate the general direction of the market and it may well last a long time. What I do with option sales is really no different. I just lose some control over my core long position sizes for a time.
(12-19-2021, 07:58 AM)fenders53 Wrote: I can't say that I am a great trader, but I do enjoy it.  I have become more risk averse through the years.  I really try to never trade a stock I'm not very OK with just owning long-term if things go wrong, because someday it will.  My trading would be more accurately described as attempts to add on significant dips and trim if he runs a little too fast, around a core position normally.  Not forcing trades is easier said than done, but it keeps me out of serious trouble.  Impulsiveness got me in trouble long ago.  If I break my rules, the bet is usually small because I know the day will come when I miscalculate the general direction of the market and it may well last a long time.  What I do with option sales is really no different.  I just lose some control over my core long position sizes for a time.