Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Supplementing Dividend Portfolio
Hi All,
I'm new to the forum, but I've been investing in dividend stocks for the past 2 years. I admit, my dividend goals are a bit lofty, as I want to have a multi-million dollar portfolio well before retirement. The main issue at the moment is that I need to "add far more fuel to the fire" than I currently am. I am taking a portion of my paycheck every 2 weeks to grow the portfolio (10% of take home pay), I am DRIPping everything I earn in the portfolio, and I am also working on becoming a better short term trader to use those gains to supplement the dividend portfolio. However, becoming a successful trader takes time, and there is no guarantee that I will get to a level where I can provide a lot more investment income. Relying solely on a percentage of my paycheck would take me multiple lifetimes for me to achieve the size portfolio that I want to achieve, so I'm looking to see if there are better methods to supplement the portfolio beyond a percentage of the paycheck. My questions to the forum are the following:

1) What are your go-to methods for supplementing your portfolio?
2) What are the timelines for achieving your portfolio goals?

I'm hoping to make this into a brainstorming session of sorts, so that I can figure out which methods of supplementation would work best for me. Please feel free to share whatever ideas you have used; so long as it's not immoral or illegal. Thanks  Big Grin
When it comes to finding funds to invest, let me ask you some questions:
1) Can you live more simply? Smaller home, cheaper car, day trips instead of overnights? I've read stories about people who purposefully lived well below their means for 2-3 years in order to kickstart a portfolio.
2) Do you have valuables you can sell?
3) Can you find a higher paying job?
4) Can you / do you want to, lower your retirement savings in order to have money to invest in a taxable account now?