Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
REITS/MLPs -- Taxable Account or Roth IRA
Hello all,

I am relatively new in the DGI. But have invested 10K so far since May of this year. I do have a question on where to have REITS and MLPs -- whether in a regular brokerage account or a ROTH IRA account?

Based on my research and readings many are recommending putting these in a ROTH IRA as otherwise the taxes are huge. I am in the 25% regular bracket (so I understand that qualified dividends will be taxed 15% for regular stocks).

Also, if ROTH IRA is the vehicle to put these, I am limited to only $5,500 per year though, right?

Thanks.
Paul
MLP's can generate tax issues when held in an IRA. Look up UBTI as relates to MLP's and IRA's. Best to hold MLP's in a taxable account to reap the full advantage of the MLP structucture anyway. An ETF or CEF may be more appropriate for holding MLP's in IRA's. IMO REITS and other investments which pay nonqualified dividends are best held in IRA's.
Alex
(09-03-2015, 08:41 PM)hendi_alex Wrote: MLP's can generate tax issues when held in an IRA. Look up UBTI as relates to MLP's and IRA's. Best to hold MLP's in a taxable account to reap the full advantage of the MLP structucture anyway. An ETF or CEF may be more appropriate for holding MLP's in IRA's. IMO REITS and other investments which pay nonqualified dividends are best held in IRA's.

Thanks Alex. So as I understand, MLPs are good in a taxable brokerage. And REITs in a Roth are good.
(09-03-2015, 09:06 PM)stewardinlife Wrote: Thanks Alex. So as I understand, MLPs are good in a taxable brokerage. And REITs in a Roth are good.

That is how I understand it as well. MLP best in taxable account and REITs best in a tax advantaged IRA.
My website: DGI For The DIY
Also on: Facebook - Twitter - Seeking Alpha
UBIT

Unrelated

Business

Income

Tax

This acronym is a tax from the IRS concerning MLP's and it scares a lot of people away from holding such investments from IRA's.

See more: