Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
DG newbie
Hey there,
I'm new to this investing idea and I was hoping to get some clarifications about the how-to's. Besides the recorded years and dividend yields, what about the following?

Debt/Equity: Is there any recommendation about the DE of a company that I should consider?

Price/Earning: Same goes here. I know PE is per sector and 15 for one company can be consider as normal and high/low for another one but assuming it fits into the other "rules", does it have any importance?

payment/ratio: Any recommendations here?

Return on Equity: Any recommendations here?

Past 5y growth and Estimate 5y growth: Any recommendations here?

Price/Book: Any recommendations here? Which is more important here, if at all, PB, PE or both?

I saw Dave Fish's spreadsheet and Peter Grossman's screener and wrote a small (very basic) app that takes the screener info into a grid where you can do a very flexible filtering on the data. As I mention, for now it is very basic but it's a small executable and requires no prerequisites. May this interest anyone?

Thanks
I dont get too heavy into analysis, but I'd recommend PEs less than the current SP500, payout ratio <60-70ish%, from the dividend growers on the list you mentioned. Also I looked at index fund holdings that match my investment style. I just made a watch list on yahoo, put about 150-200 or so stocks on there and spent a few days reading posts here and on a lot of blogs and on seeking alpha regarding those companies and whittled it down to the stocks I'm actively tracking. I've moved the watch list to my fidelity account and set price triggers for the ones I'm serious about and just wait for something to pop.