Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Do You Remember When You Were First Sold on Dividend Growth?
Did you have a eureka moment with dividend growth investing? If so, what was your "moment?"

My moment was my first tax season as a CPA. Several of the high net worth individuals had huge dividend income. My boss told me that a lot of the clients were receiving more than their original principle every year in dividends. Eureka! Financial life changed.
Probably when I started playing around with compounding money calculations and realizing that $10,000 in yearly dividends compounding at 8% for 30 years means I could live off $100,000 a year in dividends during retirement if I chose to do so ... and I'd be able to pass off that massive portfolio to my kids to make their lives and their kids lives easier

Cant remember exactly, but it was a combination of:
dividendgrowthinvestor.com started piquing my interest when it was new; I started seeing some dividend distributions trickle in from my mutual fund holdings; and then found Passive Income Earner (now renamed Dividend Earner) which I perused in and out and started my path in DGI ever since.
Investing to me has always been about creating passive income, so dividends have always been a big part of my investing philosophy. Seeing as the ultimate goal is to have enough dividend income to survive on that alone, it was pretty much obvious that I need to be picking companies where the dividend is growing steadily so inflation doesn't get the best of me.
Great topic!

I was a dedicated index fund guy until the big crisis of 2008/2009. I read a lot of news during the crisis, and was fortunate to come across an article that stated emphatically that while it seemed like the world was ending, the low prices were actually the opportunity of a lifetime. That resonated with me a lot, and I started sniffing around at individual companies.